A Nourishing Start

Yesterday started my journey in the new, at the perhaps unususal destination of Wing Lee Hong supermarket on Vicar Lane. I say unusual in that I never thought this quest would involve a shop, never mind something as pedestrian as a supermarket. However, after days drooling over these home-made pot noodles I was in need of an ingredients haul.

I don’t know how I’ve managed to live in Leeds almost eight years and never been to this place! There is everything you could need to take a stab at asian cooking of all varieties, from bamboo steamers to unsual spices. Shelves are also stocked with items from Thailand to Taiwan, as well as kitsch Japanese snacks and freezers abound with backpacker favourites like sticky rice wrapped in banana leaves.

I left with everything I needed for my recipes (plus a few things I didn’t) and will definitely be back.

image

Leave a Reply

